UAE e-invoicing guide 2026 for SMEs: dates and PINT AE
UAE e-invoicing for businesses under AED 50 million: pilot from July 2026, ASP by 31 March 2027, go-live 1 July 2027, the 51 mandatory fields, penalties and a dated checklist.
The UAE is moving business-to-business invoicing onto a national electronic network. For most small and medium businesses the working deadline is 1 July 2027, with an accredited service provider appointed by 31 March 2027. This guide covers the dates, what PINT AE and Peppol mean, the 51 mandatory fields, the role of an accredited service provider and the penalties, with every figure taken from the official texts in the Sources list. Our UAE VAT compliance guide covers the VAT rules that e-invoicing builds on.
The short version for a business under AED 50 million
- Pilot and voluntary adoption both start on 1 July 2026. Revenue below AED 50 million: appoint an Accredited Service Provider (ASP) by 31 March 2027 and implement by 1 July 2027 (Ministerial Decision 244 of 2025, Articles 3 to 5).
- The obligation applies regardless of VAT registration status, unless you are excluded under Article 4 of Ministerial Decision 243 of 2025 (MoF mandatory fields document).
- Nobody submits to the FTA directly. The issuer and the recipient fulfil their obligations through an appointed ASP (MD 243, Article 6(7)), and the ASPs report the tax data to the FTA (MoF eInvoicing programme).
Who must comply and when
| Phase | Who | Appoint an ASP by | System live by |
|---|---|---|---|
| Pilot programme | Invited Taxpayer Working Group members | Not stated | Starts 1 July 2026 |
| Voluntary adoption | Any person | Not stated | From 1 July 2026 |
| Wave 1 | Revenue of AED 50 million or more | 30 October 2026 (originally 31 July 2026) | 1 January 2027 |
| Wave 2 | Revenue below AED 50 million | 31 March 2027 | 1 July 2027 |
| Government entities | Government entities | 31 March 2027 | 1 October 2027 |
MD 244 defines revenue as gross income in your most recent accounting period, per your financial statements (Article 1). The wave 1 ASP deadline moved from 31 July to 30 October 2026 under Ministerial Resolution 66 of 2026, which replaces Article 5(1)(a) of MD 244 and whose own text is headed Ministerial Decision 66 of 2026. The Ministry announced it on 10 May 2026; the 1 January 2027 go-live is unchanged.
The legal base is Federal Decree-Law 16 of 2024 (VAT Law: tax invoices and credit notes now include electronic ones) and Federal Decree-Law 17 of 2024 (Tax Procedures Law: defines the system and lets the Minister set dates and scope), both announced on 29 October 2024. Ministerial Decisions 243, 244 and 64 of 2025, Cabinet Decision 106 of 2025 and Ministerial Resolutions 56 and 66 of 2026 sit beneath them, all listed on the MoF programme page.
What is in scope and what is not
Ministerial Decision 243 of 2025 applies the system to any person conducting business in the UAE, for every business transaction, unless the person or the transaction is excluded under Article 4 (Article 3). With business-to-consumer sales carved out by MD 244, that leaves business-to-business and business-to-government trade. Article 4 excludes transactions by government entities acting in a sovereign capacity and not competing with the private sector, international passenger transport by an airline where an electronic ticket is issued (plus ancillary services covered by an electronic miscellaneous document), international air cargo under an airway bill for 24 months from the date the system takes effect, and financial services that are VAT exempt or zero rated under Article 42 of the VAT Executive Regulation. Article 6(5) requires an electronic invoice or credit note to be issued and transmitted through the system within 14 days of the date of the business transaction, which Article 1 defines as the earlier of the transaction date and the date payment is received. For a VAT registrant, Article 6(4) applies the VAT Law timeline instead, which is also 14 days but counted from the date of supply under Article 67 of Federal Decree-Law 8 of 2017. Transactions between members of the same VAT group are in scope, but section 6.3.2 of the Guidelines V1.1 gives them a grace period of 24 months from 1 January 2027. Andersen UAE's summary covers the same ground in plainer language.
VAT registration is not the test: a business under the AED 375,000 mandatory VAT registration threshold that sells to other businesses can still be in scope. B2C is out only for now, so a business with both trade and retail customers is in scope for its trade side.
PINT AE and Peppol in plain terms
Peppol is an international network for exchanging structured business documents. Each company connects once to an access point, and the access points talk to each other. The UAE runs on the OpenPeppol network with a decentralised model usually called the five corner model: corner 1 is the supplier, corner 2 the supplier's ASP, corner 3 the buyer's ASP, corner 4 the buyer, and corner 5 the FTA, which receives the tax data from the ASPs.
PINT stands for Peppol International, a family of billing specifications with one shared core and national customisations. PINT AE is the UAE version, published by OpenPeppol (current release version 1.0.4, dated 3 June 2026), covering an invoice transaction and a credit note transaction, with a separate specification for self-billing. Your invoice leaves your system as a structured XML file; a PDF attached to an email does not meet the definition in MD 243 Article 1 (repeated in Cabinet Decision 106) of an electronic invoice: one issued, transmitted and received in a structured electronic format that enables automatic and electronic processing. The FTA's eInvoicing page says the same in plainer words: unstructured formats such as PDFs and scanned documents are not electronic invoices. Saudi Arabia uses a different model; see our ZATCA Phase 2 guide.
The 51 mandatory fields
The MoF document UAE Electronic Invoice Mandatory Fields, version 1.0 of 23 February 2026 lists 51 mandatory fields for an electronic tax invoice and 49 for a commercial electronic invoice, grouped into six blocks: invoice details, seller, buyer, document totals, tax breakdown and invoice line.
Most of it is familiar from Article 59 of the VAT Executive Regulation: names, addresses, TRNs, per-line quantity, price, tax rate and AED totals. The additions are mostly codes and identifiers:
- An invoice transaction type code of eight flags (free trade zone, deemed supply, margin scheme, summary invoice, continuous supply, disclosed agent billing, e-commerce supply, exports), each 1 or 0.
- A payment due date, a payment means type code, and an electronic address for seller and buyer. For a UAE business this is the fixed scheme identifier 0235 followed by the ten digit TIN, and the pair forms the endpoint your ASP registers on the network.
- A seller legal registration identifier and its type (trade licence, Emirates ID, passport or Cabinet Decision), plus a country subdivision for both parties, which for a UAE address is the emirate.
- Per line: a unit of measure code, item net and gross price, price base quantity, and the VAT amount and line amount in AED.
If your item master has no units of measure and your customer records have no emirate field, that is where the cleanup starts.
Your TIN: the first ten digits of your TRN
Your Peppol participant identifier is 0235 followed by your ten digit Tax Identification Number. The February 2026 fields document describes the TIN as the first ten digits of the 15-digit corporate tax TRN. The Guidelines V1.1 of June 2026 put it more broadly: a business registered with the FTA for any tax type already has a TIN, the first ten digits of the TRN it was issued. A person in scope that is not required to register for any tax must register with the FTA to obtain a TIN. Members of a tax group use the first ten digits of their own TRN, not the representative's, and each member onboards separately, possibly with a different ASP.
What an accredited service provider does
An ASP is accredited by the Ministry of Finance under Ministerial Decision 64 of 2025. It runs corners 2 and 3: it receives your invoice data in an agreed format, validates it and converts it into the UAE standard XML if you did not send XML, transmits it to the buyer's ASP, reports the tax data to the FTA, and validates and delivers inbound invoices from your suppliers (Guidelines V1.1, chapter 5).
The Ministry publishes the official ASP list under Article 16 of MD 64. On 4 September 2026 it listed 50 accredited providers and 7 pre-approved providers in final assessment, up from 32 on 10 May 2026. There is no other route onto the network. Ask each provider whether it needs a complete PINT AE XML file from your system or a simpler data feed it maps for you; that decides how much of the 51-field work sits with you.
Penalties under Cabinet Decision 106 of 2025
Cabinet Decision 106 of 2025 was issued on 9 October 2025 and took effect on 15 October 2025. Article 2(2) says it does not apply to a person using the system voluntarily.
| Violation | Administrative penalty |
|---|---|
| Failure to implement the system, including failure to appoint an ASP on time | AED 5,000 for each month of delay or part of a month |
| Failure to issue and transmit an electronic invoice or credit note through the system on time | AED 100 per document, capped at AED 5,000 per calendar month for invoices and a separate AED 5,000 per calendar month for credit notes |
| Failure by the issuer or the recipient to notify the FTA of a system failure on time | AED 1,000 for each day of delay or part of a day |
| Failure to notify your ASP of changes to the data registered with the FTA on time | AED 1,000 for each day of delay or part of a day |
The windows behind the last two rows are in MD 243: notify the FTA of a system failure within two business days of it occurring (Article 12), and notify your ASP in writing of any change to your FTA-registered data within five business days of the FTA confirming the change (Article 5(3)).
A preparation checklist counted back from 1 July 2027
Now to December 2026: confirm your position and clean the data
- Run the revenue test on your latest financial statements. Above AED 50 million means wave 1 and 1 January 2027.
- Confirm your TIN, the first ten digits of any TRN the FTA has issued you, or register with the FTA if you have no tax registration at all.
- Clean customer records (legal names, TRNs, address, city, emirate) and the item master (units of measure, names, descriptions, a tax category on every item). The UAE VAT calculator helps check a line before it reaches an invoice.
- Read the MoF UAE Electronic Invoicing Guidelines V1.1 of 1 June 2026, the official process guide.
January to 31 March 2027: appoint an ASP
- Shortlist from the MoF list, confirm the data format each expects, and sign before 31 March 2027. Onboarding starts in EmaraTax and finishes on the ASP's system, which registers your endpoint (0235 plus your TIN) on the network (Guidelines V1.1, section 13.2).
April to June 2027: test and rehearse
- Send test invoices and credit notes through the ASP and fix validation errors field by field. Test receiving by asking a supplier that is already live to send you one.
- Build the 14-day issuance window into your receivables process and agree who notifies the FTA of a system failure within the two business day window.
1 July 2027: go live, with your existing VAT record-keeping unchanged.
Frequently asked questions
Does UAE e-invoicing apply if my business is not VAT registered?
Yes, if you are otherwise in scope. The MoF mandatory fields document says the obligation applies regardless of VAT registration status unless you are excluded under Article 4 of MD 243.
Are sales to consumers included?
No. MD 244 Article 5(2) keeps business-to-consumer sales outside the system until the Minister issues a decision.
Can I connect to the FTA directly instead of using an ASP?
No. MD 243 Article 6(7) requires the issuer and the recipient to meet their obligations through an accredited service provider; missing the appointment deadline costs AED 5,000 for each month or part of a month under Cabinet Decision 106.
Do the penalties apply while I adopt voluntarily?
No. Cabinet Decision 106 Article 2(2) excludes persons exchanging electronic invoices on a voluntary basis.
Sources
- Ministry of Finance, eInvoicing programme page
- Ministry of Finance, amendments to the Tax Procedures and VAT decree-laws to support the eInvoicing system, 29 October 2024
- Ministerial Decision 243 of 2025 on the Electronic Invoicing System (PDF)
- Ministerial Decision 244 of 2025 on the Implementation of the Electronic Invoicing System (PDF)
- Ministry of Finance, targeted amendments to eInvoicing system decisions, 10 May 2026
- Ministerial Resolution 66 of 2026 amending Ministerial Decision 244 of 2025 (PDF)
- Ministry of Finance, UAE Electronic Invoice Mandatory Fields V1.0, 23 February 2026 (PDF)
- Ministry of Finance, UAE Electronic Invoicing Guidelines V1.1, 1 June 2026 (PDF)
- Ministry of Finance, eInvoicing Accredited Service Providers list
- Cabinet Decision 106 of 2025 on violations and administrative penalties, FTA copy (PDF)
- Federal Tax Authority, UAE eInvoicing
- Federal Tax Authority, Registration for VAT (thresholds)
- Federal Decree-Law 8 of 2017 on Value Added Tax, FTA copy (PDF)
- Federal Tax Authority, VAT Executive Regulation, Cabinet Decision 52 of 2017 and its amendments (PDF)
- OpenPeppol, PINT AE billing specification, version 1.0.4 of 3 June 2026
- OpenPeppol, PINT AE self-billing specification
- Andersen UAE, e-invoicing Ministerial Decisions 243 and 244 of 2025
Axion Finance issues UAE VAT invoices today with the seller, buyer, TRN, per-line tax category and AED totals that the MoF field list requires, alongside per-country VAT for the rest of the GCC. An accredited service provider is still required to transmit anything onto the network, so treat any ERP, ours included, as the data source and the ASP as the connection. See the Finance box and pricing for what each box includes.
Ready to streamline your GCC operations?
Axion ERP is built for Gulf compliance from day one
UAE VAT, KSA ZATCA Fatoorah, WPS payroll, GOSI, multi-currency, and full Arabic/English support: one platform, zero bolt-ons.